My Best Friend’s Wedding: The Beginning

17 Dec

We’re adding a new feature on our blog–every couple weeks or so, I’ll be posting my own experiences of being a bridesmaid in my best friend’s wedding! Stay tuned as we deliberate over dress choices, decor, bachelorette party ideas, and all that comes along with planning a wedding!

*          *          *          *          *

It was a rainy evening last March and I was about to head out for one of the last nights of my college spring break, when the familiar text message ding-ding sounded on my phone. It was a picture message from my best friend, Ellen, who was on a trip with her boyfriend, Ryan, in New Orleans:

After loudly and giddily telling my inanimate iPhone screen to “Holy crap! SHUT UP!” several times, I dialed up Ellen to congratulate her and get all the details. The first of my friends to get engaged and my first experience as a bridesmaid!

Ellen and I grew up together on Martha’s Vineyard, have been friends ever since I can remember, and best friends since the 5th grade, where we drove our poor teacher to the brink of insanity. Seen here playing “Wizbang,” a game we invented in my basement one weekend, I think it’s safe to say we’ve always had a rather unique bond…

Ellen and her fiancé Ryan, who grew up on the Vineyard as well, first dated in middle school (I know what you’re thinking—since when do those relationships end in marriage?!), and began dating again after high school.

Flash-forward to today, and we’ve got a wedding to plan! The big day is set for September 17, 2011 at the breathtakingly scenic Captain Flander’s House in Chilmark, MA.

Ellen’s sister and I will be sharing bridesmaid duties as co-Maid of Honors, and while the heavy-duty planning isn’t in full swing quite yet, the hunt for bridesmaid dresses has already begun. Ellen is thinking of a purple color theme for her wedding, recently refining her colors to jewel-tone purple and orange. The color choice was no surprise because she LOVES purple. Purple cell phone, purple wallet, purple jewelry–it’s been her color for years! Originally, Ellen was thinking a light purple or lavender for bridesmaid dresses, but the shade slowly gotten darker, settling on a beautiful deep jewel tone. And since we all know darker colors tend to be a little more flattering with tighter dresses, I’m certainly not complaining! Here are the bridesmaid dress options that have been tossed around so far (The first is from J. Crew, the next two are from Priscilla of Boston, and the last is Alfred Angelo):

For this J. Crew dress, I love the bodice detailing and think the fitted bust with an empire waist and whimsical skirt is an extremely flattering combination on almost all body types. (Luckily Ellen’s sister and I have similar body types, so settling on a dress that looks great on us both should be that much easier). The shade of purple Ellen’s thinking of has gotten darker though, so this one might be out out the running.

I love that these two dresses from Priscilla of Boston are form-fitted. For everyday occasions, I would normally opt for something more fitted, so when Ellen suggested these two, I had a natural inclination towards them. And the strapless choice has some strategically-flattering rouching, which is always great!

I was admittedly surprised at first when Ellen said she wanted to incorporate orange into her color theme, but then I saw this dress option, and I just kept envisioning how beautiful the colors would look against a bright flower bouquet. The sash option on this dress is great because it allows for a second color to make an appearance in the bridal party.

Which is your favorite so far? We’re set to go dress shopping January 4, so be sure to check back for updates—I’ll keep you posted throughout the whole process of being a first-time bridesmaid!

Countdown to the Big Day: 275 Days

One Response to “My Best Friend’s Wedding: The Beginning”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tweets that mention My Best Friend’s Wedding: The Beginning « Bridesmaid Trade Blog -- Topsy.com - December 17, 2010

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by bridesmaidtrade, bridesmaidtrade. bridesmaidtrade said: First time as a Maid of Honor! Check out my story–all the advice you have would be great! http://bit.ly/hIywYx […]

Leave a Reply

